Today we are going to talk about Reading Response activities.  I also want to know if any of you use any type of reading response journals or questions to help your child retain what they have read.  Many curriculum have reading response activities that go along with their stories.  But if you’re using your own reading program or just reading books, you might feel that you need something to help with comprehension.

Reading Response Journals are one of the easiest ways that I’ve found to keep up with comprehension type questions.  In my classroom, I had my students put together reading response journals to go along with whatever book they are reading.

There are two ways you can do this.  You can either make a journal for every book they read or you can make a larger journal to keep for an entire semester.  You can make these journals very inexpensively.  This is how I make mine.

I use card stock for the cover.  I have some response questions that can be printed right on the cover or you can cut it out and glue it inside the cover.  Either way works.   You then put in lined paper.  I found a really great site for this.  It is www.printablepaper.net

There are two options that I found.  This one I like but you will have to cut these out.  So more work. The other you will only need to fold and put into the cover.  I staple on the outside because I don’t have one of those large staplers.

The process for this journal is the child either picks one of the questions inside the cover to write about or you can give them specific questions about the book they’re reading.  On the internet you can find many places with questions for almost every chapter of a book.  One of the best places I’ve found for this is “Homeschool Free Stuff”.  Here is the address.  If you look on the right hand side, look under English, and click on “books – supplemental materials”.  There is a long list of books.  If you don’t find your book there, you might need to do a search for the book.  Use the book’s title and then put lesson plans or unit.  This will usually bring up many websites to check.

You can also use Author’s Study, Character Studies, and many other Reading Response type sheets to keep things changing.

My resources for today are:

www.busyteacherscafe.com/literacy/readers_response.html

www.sanchezclass.com/reading-graphic-organizers.htm

http://www.dps109.org/walden/websites/jfischer/Resources/Reading%20Response%20Questions.pdf

http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMC4eRRwCYE

http://www.printablepaper.net/

homeschoolfreestuff.wordpress.com

If you would like to watch the webcast you can click on these links.  There are two because I was cut off and had to start the recording again.

Reading Response Journals and Activities part 1

Reading Response Journals and Activities part 2

