I’m not sure where I found this notebook, but I thought it was great! So we decided to make one. I really liked that it had sections, both teaching and her writing, all in the same place. We took a week just to set the notebook up and to do the “Writing Ideas” section. We also did one page in the “Writing Notes” section. So here are the sections of her notebook:

Table of Contents

Writing Ideas

My Writing

Writing Notes

Writing Goals

This week she has started writing and we have set some goals.

Here are a couple of pictures of her Notebook as well as some of the pages we did in the “Writing Ideas” section.

5 6 13 012

This is Abby’s cover. I recommend each student be allowed to decorate their cover. It makes it theirs.

5 6 13 015

This is the Table of Contents. To make it easier, have your students/children number all the pages in their notebook. Even if they pull one out, they will be numbered and they can then add them to the Table of Contents.

5 6 13 022

This is the first page in the “Writing Ideas” section. This is Abby’s Authority List. These are things she feels she has some authority writing about. Abby’s were: One Direction, Ed Sheeran, Deaf/Mute, Family, love, Acteens, Adventures.

5 6 13 017

This is the Heart Map. She had to list things she loves. Her list was: Reading, my computer, Bible, Jesus, Writing, my phone, my family, sleeping and helping people.

5 6 13 018

This is the Ideas for Writing. She was to write ways and places she could write for. Some of hers were: on a blog, on Wattpad.com, letter to the editor, in a journal,m and Facebook.

5 6 13 019

This was her Memory Hand. Here she was to write feeling words on each finger such as happy, sad, angry, excited, nervous, and proud. She then wrote a memory that cooresponded to the emotion. These can then be used to “jumpstart” an idea for writing.

5 6 13 020

Here is her first writing assignment in her new notebook in the “My Writing” section. She recently went on a mission trip to Jackson, MS with her Acteens group. She had to write 5 paragraphs about her adventure.

5 6 13 021

This page is in the “Writing Notes” section. I used this with my 5th graders when I taught school to help them make their sentences better. I thought Abby could use it as well. On each finger you write: who, what, where, where, and why and then how goes on the palm. We did a lesson together using a simple sentence like, “We went to the store.” We then used the words on the fingers to make the sentence better. Example: Who – change We to Mom and I. When – Add yesterday. Why – add to get milk. Where – change the store to Walmart. How – add in the car. So the simple sentence was changed to “Yesterday, Mom and I went to Walmart in the car to get milk.”

